According to the 1949 Civil Air Patrol Manual  cadet training continued to focus on producing a "reservoir of preflight trained young men available for the Air Force in the event of war." It also stated the cadet program was considered a three year long course.

Cadets who passed a lengthy national exam based on the Aviation Study Manual and completed one encampment were awarded the Certificate of Proficiency (COP). The COP was called the "cadet diploma", and it was the highest achievement for cadets until the Falcon Award was introduced in 1964. The first COP was awarded in 1950.

Cadets continued to participate in ES missions.


In 1949 CAP introduced a three manual series, commonly called the "Brown Books."  Book 1 was the Civil Air Patrol Manual.  Book 2 was the Aviation Study Manual.  Book 3 was an instructor guide.


Cadets wore the Army khaki uniform until the new Air Force uniforms were authorized in 1951.  The Air Force  wore khaki uniforms (with a blue cap, tie and belt) in the summer, and a blue uniform with a service coat in the winter.  A pale blue two piece summer uniform with a long skirt was introduced for female cadets around 1952.  For male cadets, if they could obtain green fatigues, they could wear them, but they were not required.  The authorized fatigue uniform for male and female cadets was jeans and a white shirt (t-shirt for males, button-up for females), with either the flight cap, a blue baseball hat, or the green fatigue cap.  Additionally, females had the blue WAF fatigues as an option.


Cadets continued to be promoted based on leadership ability.  Promotions were restricted as in the First Generation.

Cadets transitioned to small blue and white embroidered chevrons.  Only five enlisted grades were authorized: Private, Private First Class, Corporal, Sergeant, and First Sergeant. 

CAP adopted Army ROTC's metal pip and lozenge cadet officer insignia (the same used today) and introduced them, C/2nd Lt to C/Col, in the 1949 Civil Air Patrol Manual.  It is unclear why the grades of C/Maj through C/Col were illustrated in the manual since promotion above C/Capt was not nationally authorized until 1956.  Promotions were not nationally standardized.  The requirements were established by each wing.  Evidence exists that the C/Maj and C/Lt Col grades were used in very large units in New York Wing in 1953.  (See the misc documents tab.)

Again, training cadets was the objective.  Cadet grade advancement was not a national priority.
Historical Highlights:

In 1954 the cadet age limit was expanded to 15-20 years old.

Cadets could earn a maximum of five ribbons in 1956: 3 cadet ribbons (red, white, and blue), encampment, and COP.

circa 1952

CAP Cadet History Project